Basketball all-district basketball players announced

By Griff Servati
For the Van Alstyne Leader

    The awards for the 2020-2021 basketball season are in for both the Panthers and Lady Panthers. The All-District awards are voted on by the coaches of the district prior to the playoffs. Earning superlatives for the Panthers were JJ Boling the District Most Valuable Player. Boling averaged 20 points per game along with seven rebounds.  Carson Brown was the Newcomer of the Year, he averaged 18 points and 7 rebounds per game this season. Earning a top award for the Lady Panthers was Kylie Allen who was voted Co-Newcomer of the Year. Allen, a senior, played her first and only season after moving to Van Alstyne from Virginia. She averaged eight points and seven rebounds this season. First-team All-District selections were Nathan Henley and Bailey Henderson. Henley averaged 12 points per game for the Panthers. Henderson, a Sophomore, was the leading scorer for the Lady Panthers averaging nine points per game. 

Panther District Awards:

JJ Boling, VAHS Junior, was awarded the Most Valuable Player.

District MVP: JJ Boling (Unanimous choice)

Newcomer of the Year: Carson Brown (Unanimous choice)

Carson Brown was voted Newcomer of the Year by the district Basketball coaches.

1st Team All-District: Nathan Henley (Unanimous choice)

Nate Henley, earned All District first team selection.

2nd Team All-District: Blake Skipworth (Unanimous choice), Tom Fowler

All-Defensive Team: Kade Ramer

Honorable Mention: Blake Hyatt

Academic All-District: Blake Hyatt, Blake Skipworth, Tom Fowler, Kade Ramer, Carson Brown, Dylan Geller, Sean Wilson, Jimmy Terrill, JJ Boling

Lady Panther All-District Awards

Co-Newcomer of the Year - Kylie Allen, Senior

Kylie Allen was voted Co-Newcomer of the Year by the district coaches.

1st Team All-District - Bailey Henderson, Sophmore

Bailey Henderson, VAHS Sophomore, earned first team All-District Awards.

2nd Team All-District - Kate Carson, Sr, Kelsie Adams, Junior

Honorable Mention - Mireya Mullins, Sr; Lanie Thorpe, Sophmore

Academic All-District - Callie Blankenship, Presley McDonald, Kelsie Adams, Kate Carson, Kaelyn Miller, Lacey Thorpe, Lanie Thorpe, Kylie Allen, Bailey Henderson, Mireya Mullins