Over two dozen student athletes were honored at the annual Van Alstyne High School Booster Club Banquet on Thursday, May 10. Picking up the most awards was senior Alyssa Hill, who took home Volleyball MVP, Outstanding Athlete along with Samuel Tormos, and Powerlifting MVP along with Jake Longbill.

Hill, a tri-athlete, defended her state powerlifting title this year, while also excelling in volleyball and track.

Hunter Hutchison and Emma Morgan earned the recognition of Scholatic Athlete, while Morgan also picked up the Fellowship of Christian Athletes award along with Tyler Neshyba. Morgan has seen an outstanding senior year. Heavily involved in academics, she was named a National Merit Finalist. Morgan also represents Van Alstyne in activities such as cheerleading and track, while picking up school titles such as Homecoming Queen and Prom Queen in addition to being an active member of her church.

“It has been a blessing to be at VAHS, because my coaches and teachers are always encouraging me to be my best,” Morgan said. “Through the difficult classes and tough practices, a motivating factor was that people were supporting me and God has given me gifts to use for his glory.

“The leaders in my community are constantly rallying around students and athletes to support them and show an example,” she continued. “The most important factor in my success as a scholar and an athlete is that God provided me with the ability to flourish in these areas.”

Sports superlatives were awarded to Zane Madison for Lineman of the Year, Rhett Gallagher for Football Offensive MVP, Justin Barnes for Football Defensive MVP, Chase Wilson for Football MVP, Chase Wilson for Basketball MVP, Marysol Hernandez for Softball MVP and Blaine Urban for Golf MVP.

“It was an honor to see all of the hard work that we put in, physically and mentally, day in and day out pay off,” Gallagher said of his achievement. The junior serves as the starting quarterback, pitcher and a member of the Van Alstyne track team.

Panther Pride was awarded to students Zane Madison and Yesenia Sanchez for their vocal community support.

Meanwhile, state-bound duo Noah Tormos and Janea Larriviere were recognized as Tennis MVPs, while Bryce Sevarino and Jenna Leinart were named Cross-Country MVP, and Noah Boling, Emma Donald and Torin Riddick were all named Basketball MVP.

Picking up the rest of the awards were Jake Carroll, George Hall, Justin Keathly, Cam Montgomery, Samuel Tormos and Sydney Ingram who were all named Track MVP. Carroll, Hall, Montgomery and Samuel Tormos all earned a trip to state on May 11 for the 4x400 meter relay at the Class 3A state track meet in Austin.

Byce Brakebill contributed to this report.