As of the close of the workday Tuesday, every seat coming open on both the Van Alstyne City Council and the Van Alstyne ISD Board of Trustees had only one person apply to serve, thereby negating the need for a May 4 election. February 15 was the deadline to file the required paperwork to run for office and Tuesday was the deadline for anyone wishing to run as a write-in candidate to sign up.

City Council Place 4 incumbent Lee Thomas and Mayor Steve Riley re-filed to continue with their current responsibilities; Place 5’s Suzon Crowell did not apply to stay on the Council, and Katrina Arsenault signed up for the Place 5 seat at the Council table.

Over at the ISD Board of Trustees table, the two seats that came open, Places 1 and 2, are held by Jim Atchison and Kurt Himmelreich, and both of those incumbents will be remaining on the board since they, too, are running unopposed.

Atchison is a retired engineer who has lived in the area for nearly 25 years and in Texas for 38 years.

Himmelreich is a 23-year resident of the area, a 50-year Texas resident, and works in business management.

Arsenault, a registered nurse, has lived in the area for nearly 20 years and in Texas for five years before moving to the area.

Thomas, who will be listed on the ballot as Cary “Lee” Thomas, is a 19-year area resident, 35-year Texas resident, and works as a project manager.

Riley is a 3-year resident of the area, 60-year Texas resident, and a retired law enforcement officer.

Both City Clerk Jennifer Gould and ISD Superintendent Dr. David Brown said there will be items on the next Board meeting agendas to approve certificates of unopposed candidates and orders of cancellation for the May 4 election. Gould said, “This will officially cancel the election and declare those who have filed (as) elected.”

Gould said that, by state law, these will officially assume their new 2-year terms’ duties of office on May 10, which is the 5th day after the May 4 election (excluding Sundays). Those on the school board serve 3-year terms.

The local elections typically cost about $6,000, and that expense, when both government entities have contested elections, is shared, or born exclusively should only one have the need for the election.

The Van Alstyne City Council meets regularly at 6:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at City Hall, and in special sessions if necessary. City Hall is at 152 N. Main.

The District’s Board of Trustees meets regularly at 7 p.m. on the third Monday of each month at its Administration building, 1096 N. Waco.

Both government entities post their agendas on their respective Websites, and

All seats unchallenged

For Mayor, Incumbent Steve Riley asking to be returned 3+ years in V.A., lifetime Texan

For Alderman Place 4, Incumbent Cary “Lee” Thomas Jr. asking to be returned, 19-year resident of Van Alstyne

For Alderman Place 5, currently held by Council Member Suzon Crowell, Katrina Arsenault seeking election. 19 years 9 months