Newly-elected city officials faced a packed Community Center for their swearing in early evening on Friday, May 11. Shown (L-R) are Place 1 Council Member Marla Butler, Place 2 Council Member Ryan Neal and Mayor Steve Riley, who were sworn in by Van Alstyne City Clerk Jennifer Gould. Returning Place 3 Council Member Robert Jaska was held up out of town on business, which prevented him from making it to the original ceremony. He arrived at 6:30, and was then sworn at that time. All of these officials were adamant in stating how eager and ready they are to serve the city of Van Alstyne. (Mary Jane Farmer / for the Van Alstyne Leader)

By Mary Jane Farmer, Van Alstyne Leader