The local elections held on Tuesday, March 6 yielded the following results that are significant for residents of Van Alstyne and Howe.

Larry Phillips won the race for District Judge in the 59th Judicial District with 59 percent of the votes (6,610 votes). Phillips beat out Jason Butscher who had 23 percent of the votes (2,595 votes) and David Kennedy who had 19 percent (2,094 votes).

Bart Lawrence beat out Ben Crouse for Grayson County Commissioner Pct 4. Lawrence had 60 percent of the votes (1,988 votes) compared to Crouse’s 40 percent (1,345 votes).

There will be a runoff on May 22 for Grayson County Justice of the Peace Pct 3 for the two candidates with the highest votes. Damon Vannoy had 41 percent of the vote (779 votes), followed by Tom Worsham Jr. with 31 percent of the votes (596 votes). Also in the initial race was Derek Welch who had 28 percent of the vote (530 votes).

The Texas Primary Elections also turned out the following results.

Pat Fallon won the race for State Senate District 30 GOP over Craig Estes and Craig Carter.

John Ratcliffe won the race for U.S. House District 4 GOP over John Cooper.

Catherine Krantz won the race for U.S. House District 4 Dem over Lander Bethel.

For more extensive coverage of election results including candidate statements, see the Herald Democrat.