With the playoff elimination of Commerce, the final team from District 13-3A volleyball left in action, the 2016 all-district volleyball team has been announced.

Van Alstyne, third place finisher in the district, had 10 players selected to the teams.

Senior Shelby Litzkow won her third consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award.

“It’s a real honor to receive this award and I really enjoyed my senior season,” Litzkow said. “Coach wanted me to take a more active leadership role on the back row and It was a challenge.”

She finished the season with almost 350 digs and her back line performance prolonged many Lady Panther rallies.

Peyton Welch, a senior who was the offensive leader for Van Alstyne, had 175 kills and 55 blocks. She also had 140 assists.

Senior Sadie Ingram, who missed much of the early season with an ankle injury, contributed 119 kills and 169 digs for the season.

Both Welch and Ingram were first-team picks.

Two first-year players from Van Alstyne were named to the second team. Lindi Boling and Micah Welch earned those honors.

Honorable Mention picks for the Lady Panthers were Janea Larriviere, Sydney Ingram, Torin Riddick, Alyssa Hill and Elizabeth Purser.

All of the Lady Panthers made the all-district academic team.

Howe Lady Bulldog senior Emily Sanders was named to the first team this season.

Sanders was a front-line leader for the Lady Bulldogs and a captain for the team. She was also selected for the 2015 all-district team.

Senior Kamryn Fulenchek was named to the all-district, second team.

Seniors Kayla Anderson and Mati Abner were honorable mention picks for the 2016 team.

Howe players who were named to the all-district academic team were: Abner, Anderson,Sanders, Fulenchek,Peyton Groves, Megan Davies, Anna Counts, Dreanna McAdams, all seniors and junior Ashlyn Ross and sophomore Kaylin Bouse.