The Van Alstyne Panthers, second place finishers in the 2013-14 District 12-2A basketball season, had two superlative awards and three first-team picks on the league’s all-district team.

Sophomore Jared McMakin was named the Co-comeback Player of the Year along with Gunter senior Tyson Scott.

Junior Bailey Thorpe won the Sixth-Man of the Year award.

First team honors went to senior Zach Davis, junior Colin McCaskill and sophomore Isaiah Boling.

Panther players recognized for the Honorable Mention list were: Jake Hillebrenner, Harrison Awe and Seth Caraway, all sophomores.

Academic All-district picks from Van Alstyne included Thorpe, Davis, Boling, Hillebrenner, McCaskill, Noah Kirk, Denny Graham, Blake Linnebur, Will Jones, C.J.Lowing and Joey Jackson.